Back to Historic Cities Main Page

| Historic Cities Main Page | Spain |



facts in brief

Part of de Beaulieu's map
Part of de Beaulieu's map

Facts in brief:

Tarragona, capital city of Tarragona province, is situated at the mouth of the Francolí River. Former seat of Iberian tribe, it was taken by Roman generals Gnaeus and Publius Scipio in 218 BCE. According to custom, Tarragona is the site where St. Paul established the Christian church in Spain in 60 CE. In 714, Tarragona was destroyed by Moors and then retaken by Christians in the 12th century, where it became part of the kingdom of Aragón. It is an active seaport and an important agricultural market.

Courtesy of Getty Thesaurus of Geographic NamesTM (
Copyright 2000 The J. Paul Getty Trust. All rights reserved.

You are visitor no.