Back to Historic Cities Main Page

| Historic Cities Main Page | South Africa |

Cape Town / Kaapstad

facts in brief

Part of Nicolas de Fer map, 1705
Part of Nicolas de Fer map, 1705

Facts in brief:

Founded by navigator Jan van Riebeeck for the Dutch East India Company; controlled by the Dutch until it fell to Great Britain in 1795; Treaty of Amiens in 1803 returned it to the Dutch; retaken by British in 1806; national legislative capital.

Courtesy of Getty Thesaurus of Geographic NamesTM (
Copyright 2000 The J. Paul Getty Trust. All rights reserved.

You are visitor no.